From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

My Son’s Married!

I was in Dallas this past weekend for the marriage of my son to a lovely Texas gal. No, I didn’t perform the service – I get much too emotional for that – but Sam did ask me to be his best man, and I was so honored by that! So they were married in a UMC church where the bride’s grandpa had once been a pastor.

Easy. Till it came to the reception where the best man gives a toast. Now what do you say? I so wish there were a magic formula for a successful, long lasting marriage: do this, pray that and your marriage will be great. But I don’t know of any magic formulae.  I’ve seen some marriages that I thought would never work, work. And I’ve seen some I thought made in heaven, not work. So I don’t think much of “compatibility” testing for marriage. My heart’s so full of desire for my son and daughter in law’s happiness that I can barely express it. So for this toast I’m to make, do I just express my desires for them? “May your marriage full of bliss, blah blah blah”?

No. Just expressing my desires isn’t enough for me to give my son and daughter in law. I want them to know, and I want to remember, that it’s only by the grace of God that a couple manages to stay together. I used to think it was willpower that did that. Just stay faithful, just do it. Foolish boy!

I want so much for them to be happy. Yet I also know that I must entrust that desire for their happiness to God, to pray for His grace and mercy to be realized in their lives, to pray that their hearts be open to Him in order to continue being open to each other.

So a well worded toast isn’t enough. Nor is it enough just to express my desire for their happiness. I must continue to love them by praying for them, and by being willing to be a reflection in my own life of the grace and holiness for which I pray.

Seems you never graduate from love. Thanks be to God for that!

3 responses

  1. Amen! Debbie

    July 4, 2008 at 9:05 am

  2. Teresa

    Wow! I didn’t know you were the best man! That is so cool!

    July 10, 2008 at 11:58 am

  3. Earl

    I was truly honored, moreso than if he had asked me to perform the ceremony!

    July 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

