From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Philippians Sermon Series Starts Soon!

I enjoyed the last series on Daniel so much, I want to do another. So starting in October, we’ll walk through Paul’s letter to the Philippians. The series will go thru November and take us right up to Advent. Here’s the schedule of readings:

October 5: 1:1-11

October 12: Guest Speaker

October 19: 2:1-11

October 26: 2:12-18

November 2: 3:1-11

November 9: Guest Speaker

November 16: 3:12-4:1

November 23: 4:10-23

November 30: ADVENT BEGINS

3 responses

  1. I am so happy you are going to do a study of Philippians! We Christians must get to know Christ on a deeper level, rather than continue knowing Him on a surface level. He is the Principle of Life, which Philippians clearly imparts to us.

    Getting to know Christ personally, through scripture and the workings of the Holy Spirit, opens the door for each of us to experience the purest Love, Peace, Joy every known by man! Our focus is then no longer on this troublesome life on earth, but focused on the indescribable wonder of Heaven for eternity!

    Debbie

    September 20, 2008 at 10:00 am

  2. Deanne

    Today’s sermon (10/19) from Philippians was so fitting for the team that went to serve at NLEC tonight! We discussed it on the way home (see you really do get in our heads!).

    Today, the message for me that was clear is that sometimes you’re just being proud NOT humble when you won’t allow others to help you (no matter what story you tell yourself). As I reflected on this tonight, I realized how much I learned from these NLEC clients today. We received so many thank you’s and even applause as we left tonight. Wow. We served one little meal – one meal that, in the grand scheme of things, is nothing compared to what they deal with on a daily basis. Tomorrow they’ll be hungry again and trying to figure out how to make it through the day. The 10-12 children that were there will still be frightened and wondering when they can have what the other kids have. We, on the other hand, will be carrying the appreciation for our blessings and the good feeling of helping someone for several days. We’ll be ramping up for the next time we can ‘do good.’

    As I sit here tonight in my nice warm home, with my kids tucked safely in bed, and prepare to snuggle into my cozy bed – I am awed by the everyday blessings I have. I wish that I had tried harder to thank the NLEC clients. They weren’t too proud to take what we could offer. They looked us in the eye and they said thank you. They served us by letting us serve them. I’m reminded of many times when I was too proud to take help from others – even prayers.

    When I contemplate the strength that those NLEC clients must have (for I certainly can’t imagine being strong enough to deal with their world), I wonder – are they there so that I can be here, on this spiritual journey at this time?

    October 19, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  3. The Philippians sermon series has been so good, and I look forward to the next two Sundays on this book. You have delivered your messages so clearly and they are full of “good food for thought and action”. God’s Word has something new to say everytime it is heard or read! Amazing and wonderful that we will never run out of something to learn from His Word no matter how often we read it!

    November 11, 2008 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

