From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Sermon On Suicide

On May 10 I preached a sermon on the Christian and suicide – my main goal was to offer Biblical comfort for those in pain or grief over a loved one who has committed suicide. I’ve created a rough outline of the sermon (with some sermonizing included!) which is available here

Biblical Comfort In Time of Suicide

For those who want to hear the actual sermon, it’s available on audio tape. If you’d like a copy, please call the church office (539-3262) and we’ll be happy to send it to you.

I was helped greatly in preparing this message by John Piper’s Funeral Meditation For A Christian Who Committee Suicide which is here. Piper’s website (Desiring God) also has an excruciatingly beautiful recording of a funeral for one of their own who committed suicide – it’s nearly two hours long but it’s worth every minute. I recommend it for anyone who’s grieving suicide. To listen to it, go here and click on “Listen to the whole service”.

2 responses

  1. Gregg Haege

    Pastor Earl – It has been a long time since I have had a chance to read over your blog. I went through it at the airport waiting for a plane to take me to England. I saw your posting on your suicide sermon and decided I must comment. This was a powerful sermon indeed. I see suicide, from many perspectives, has seemed to be a taboo subject. This is a shame. Because of the changes our society has seen, suicide has become a viable alternative, an escape, for many reasons. This too is a shame, taking the most precious gift any of us have and giving it back to its Creator as if to say, “This was defective to begin with, has become broken, and I wish to return it.” Thank you as well for the outline of the sermon, as I will keep it. I had already committed the outline I had taken down that Sunday morning to the back pages of my bible, where I keep the most important scripture lessons I have learned. Thank you for stepping out to meet the need off the hour–a glaring need..

    June 5, 2009 at 10:30 am

  2. Thanks Gregg – I was struck by the people who talked to me afterward (sometimes many days afterward) and thanked me for the message; that they’d waited a LONG time for someone to speak on the subject in public. I hadn’t been aware they were carrying such burdens in silence.

    June 8, 2009 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

