From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Schafale Ordination Anniversary

Today we celebrated Pastor Herb Schafale’s 50th Ordination Anniversary at both services, followed by a luncheon – make that a banquet! The attendance was great – the sanctuary was full at the second service – so the hymns (mostly Herb’s favorites) were powerfully sung. Especially enjoyable was “The Work Is Thine” from the old E&R Hymnal. The choir did a fine job on that.

The banquet fed some 170 people. When I saw all those folks, the full sanctuary, some of whom came from as far as Indiana to honor Herb’s anniversary, I was moved. It made me realize (again) that I’m standing on the shoulders of many others here who came before me. I was 8 years old when Herb was ordained, and that helps me feel hopeful that my work here might someday be remembered too.

Thanks to Sandy Dickens for taking  plenty of pix- I’ve included several below for your viewing pleasure. To see all 42 of Sandy’s photos, click here.

Leave a Reply

