From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Now I’m A Nook-ie

I’ve been reading reviews of e-book readers, like Amazon’s Kindle, and wondering if they’d really be useful or helpful. Then I read about significant price drops (and maybe a coming price war) between the Nook (Barnes & Noble) and the Kindle (Amazon). So yesterday I got a Nook. Guess that makes me a Nook-ie…

The thing that got me started thinking about it was a conversation I had with Terry G. Terry’s on our town’s library board, and he indicated that the library was thinking of loaning e-books (one advantage of that: when book is due, it just disappears from your e-reader, hence no late fees!). No more lugging those heavy volumes back and forth!

So I did a little research with my favorite review site (go here to read what they say) where I learned the differences between the various options (You can only download Amazon books with Amazon’s Kindle, e.g.) and what I’d expect to pay. Then while searching for other recent e-book reader news, I saw a blurb that said B&N was reducing the price of their Nook ($149 with Wi-Fi only; $199 with Wi-Fi and 3G). So I checked it out and was impressed.

I see now that Amazon has dropped the price of Kindle to $139 ($189 with 3G). But the main reason I got the Nook rather than the Kindle was that I had several B&N gift cards I wanted to use, and I didn’t see any big advantage of the Kindle at least for me. So here are the things I like about it:

  • It doesn’t have 3G but does have Wi-Fi – so while I can’t download Calvin’s Institutes while driving across Kansas, I can while sitting in any McDonalds. I can download practically anything I want via my desktop computer
  • I can go into any B&N and read any book for free for one hour
  • Over a million titles are available and a bunch of them are free or pretty cheap, for example:
    • Luther’s commentary on Galatians (95 cents), Confessions of St. Augustine (95 cents), N.T. Wright’s Simply Christian ($11.99); at St. Paul’s we’re going to be reading Tim Keller’s Prodigal God this fall, and both the book ($16.99) and discussion guide ($7.99 re available)
  • Downloads are superfast – War and Peace took about 3 seconds, literally!
  • I can use Nook to download library books when they become available
  • It reads PDF’s, EPUB’s, GIF’s, JPG’s, BMOC’s, BFD”s (a little humor there)
  • I can loan a book on my Nook to someone else with a Nook for free (for 14 days), and vice versa
  • I can change the size of the font to suit my eyes

So now that Joh and I are going to the Lake next week, I can carry along with me the Institutes and 1500 other books, all one a device that weighs 11.6 ounces and is 7.7 x 4.9 inches and is a half inch thick.

For more info, you can check out B&N’s website or their blog.

3 responses

  1. Joey Kern

    I will soon possess an Amazon Kindle Latest Generation. This generation is better and faster than the 2nd. It should be at my door on Friday August 27th, 2010 or the 28th. I’m very excited about this!!

    July 31, 2010 at 6:24 pm

  2. Terry G

    The Freeburg library will have ebooks available after October 1. As Earl mentioned these ebooks are NOT compatible with Kindle, but most other readers, including Nook and Sony.
    T

    August 1, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  3. carlos

    brother greets from venezuela, I congratulate for your nook notes and for to be nook-ie I want to be a nook-ie too but I am in venezuela,and in my country nobody sell nooks,and I don´t have credit card,no dollars, if you get tired with the nook, or you know someone who are tired please I don´t have any problem in to receieve that nook!

    God bless you!

    August 12, 2010 at 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

