From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

I Think My Wife’s A Calvinist

I know some folks at St. Paul’s are sick of hearing me make references to Calvinism, my being (or becoming) a Calvinist. But I very much appreciate having a school of thought to help me think, to explore this faith path down which many others have gone before me. I think many prefer to stay in the “mushy middle” because if they’re not specific about what they believe, they won’t get held responsible for believing anything.

Anyway (rant over!) I really get a kick out of Calvinist humor. Calvinism has such a reputation (undeserved) for being dour, uberserious, heavy, intellectual, etc. it makes Calvinist humor even funnier. C’mon, just the thought of Calvinist humor brings a smile to your face, doesn’t it? So I was delighted to find a video of a song titled “I Think My Wife’s A Calvinist” (click here to go to the “Reformed Voices” site where you can find other videos). It helps if you’re familiar with John Piper, Norman Geisler, the ESV, and Romans 8:28. Even if you’re not, it might be good to see Calvinists laughing at themselves!

BTW my wife Johanna is NOT a Calvinist! Then again, that’s only because she wasn’t predestined from the foundation of the world to be one!

Leave a Reply

