From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Mainliners: Tell Me Again Why Incest Is Wrong

Here’s an article from Al Mohler (yep Southern Baptist) that raises what used to be a more or less theoretical question – do the arguments supporting homosexuality also support incest? Seems to me they do. Now the question isn’t theoretical anymore.

Mohler points to a Columbia University professor charged with incest (with his daughter). If she’s consenting, why’s that so bad? I wonder if liberal churches will rally around this cause.

Carl Trueman issues a bit more nuanced (I hate the trendiness of that word) challenge to mainliners here.

Logic, of course, has not been the driving force behind the gay movement. Feelings, experience, emotion yes. But logic? For the life of me I can’t see how the arguments for one (gay marriage) don’t also work for incest or polygamy. They do. But who cares about that, really? I dunno – maybe when your daughter wants to marry a guy with 4 wives. Or when your mom comes on to you. Then we might care about the logic of the argument and the political power behind a sexual movement.

Or not.

2 responses

  1. diane

    Earl,

    I know your feelings about homosexuality but to compare all gay marriage to incest is unfair. It appears that you feel that same-sex marriage is all about sex… far from it. IT would be like me comparing your marriage to marriages consisting of mail order brides. My marriage in no way compares to incest and one day I hope you take the time to meet my partner so you can see the difference between our marriage and incest.

    Diane

    December 24, 2010 at 10:41 am

    • Hi Diane – Thanks for reading my blog! I do appreciate it. Now to my response to your response! Regardless of how you or I feel about things, my question has to do with the reasons, the logic, behind things. Can you give me a couple of reasons why incestuous folks (consenting adults, loving & committed) shouldn’t be given the same marriage rights the gay folks fought for? And if you can, would you be willing to support them in their quest for recognition and affirmation?

      December 27, 2010 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

