From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Read The Bible In A Year Together

Some of us at St. Paul’s are going to be reading the Bible over the next year. I don’t know how many of us are doing this yet, but I hope that by next Palm Sunday (April 1, 2012) we’ll be able to recognize 20-30 people who’ve spent a year with Scripture.

There are a lot of Bible reading plans out there – I do recommend getting one, rather than reading the Scripture straight thru from Genesis to Revelation. If you try reading straight thru, I can almost guarantee you’ll bog down in Leviticus! Instead, try one of the many reading plans out there that have you reading different parts of Scripture each day. The plan I’m using and encouraging our people at STP to use is from Michael Coley (you can download a PDF of the 52-week plan by clicking here). The virtue of this plan is that you’ll read some of every genre of the Bible each week. On Mondays you read from the Law, on Tuesday from history, on Wednesday from Psalms, etc. So you’ll read Leviticus alright, but only a few chapters a week, with lots of other readings in between.

If you’re interested in reading the Scripture online using this plan, I invite you to check out Coley’s website by clicking here.

Whatever plan you use, I know the real challenge will come in a few weeks, when I’ve gotten behind and have to decide whether to give up or keep pressing on. A little bit each day, for 365 days. Kinda like being faithful in one’s whole life – one day at a time.

If you decide you want to join me in reading the whole Bible this year, would you let me know?

2 responses

  1. Tami Hughes

    Okay… I’m letting you know that I’m going to get through the entire Bible this time. I’m sure I can do it with a plan other than my usual start at the beginning and keep reading until I get busy or forget. I’m already unsure if I am getting the full meaning or just reading because I am capable of that simple act. (Like is there any significance to 14 generations between Abraham and David, David and the exile in Babylon, and the exile and the birth of Christ?) But maybe by attending some of the classes offered at church and by purchasing a study Bible and by reading the UCC daily devotionals and by praying and by trusting in God more, and by really committing myself to reading the Bible daily, I’ll learn and understand more than I did before.

    I’m trying to interest others in my family… maybe Rachel, maybe my mom,… but I’m definitely on board. Since I’ll be in Florida for a week, I’m even reading ahead to make sure I don’t get behind.

    March 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    • Hey Tami! Welcome to the (so far) small but growing band of Bible readers! At this point I’d just say not to worry about getting the full meaning of every text. The Scripture is deep enough we’ll never get the full meaning (in this life). LIke 14 generations – I’m sure there is specific meaning to that, but don’t worry about what that is unless you just wanna take the time to find out. My goal is just to have read the entire Scripture by next Palm Sunday. If people are interested, we might share questions or thoughts about our readings here on the blog – while people will be going at their own pace it might be helpful.

      Here’s to a year of Scripture! What do you think we should do next Palm Sunday to celebrate?

      March 15, 2011 at 6:18 am

Leave a Reply

