From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Who Were Those Guys?? A Parable Of Repentance

I had an interesting experience this morning while googling for an image for my previous post on preparing for Good Friday. Try googling “holy week” and see what you get. I found several images, right up near the top, involving guys in white or red KKK-style hoods. The symbolism is apparent, I guess – KKK=bad guys, the folks who crucified Christ were bad guys, hence the KKK priesthood imagery.

I was all ready to post my remarks that this imagery is absolutely wrong. In Jesus’ day the Pharisees and priests were not “hatemongers” but highly respected theological and civil leaders. If we REALLY wanted to be confrontive of our society, instead of the evil KKK we should have images of college professors (sorry Dave!), seminary profs, clergy (Spong?) and politicians leading the crucifixion. When will we get it thru our heads that we are no less evil than those evil folks who crucified Christ?

As I sat here, thinking of how evil people are who consider other people more evil than themselves…He got me. (sometimes His sense of humor really irks me!) The pix that I thought were KKK related, were actually from a story from Boston.com about Holy Week Practices around the world. The folks in the hoods are penitents, claiming their own sinfulness.

And you Earl? What is it that you’re doing at that computer keyboard?

For more on the story – and food for thought about what we North Americans think repentance is (something that would actually involve – Oh I dunno, actual suffering?) – go to the boston.com story here. I’ve included just a few pics from the story to pique your interest:

 

Leave a Reply

