From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Does The Bible Matter? Really?

I didn’t expect this article from Fox News about the role of the Scripture in our culture and history – that is, I didn’t expect to see it show up on a secular news service.

Arguments can be made about whether the founders of our nation were Christian or not; whether we are a Christian nation (whatever that means) or not. Regardless of those arguments, the question I have for mainliners is: does the Bible matter or not? For a very long time in my own life, the Bible was essentially an icon or trophy – something to be admired, or displayed. I did not read it regularly or irregularly – because it was hard to understand, because it demanded something of me to understand it. But it looked good sitting on the altar, or in the pulpit.

I am no Bible scholar. I have a LONG way to go before I can say I understand everything in the Bible. So I don’t hold myself to be any more holy than anyone else sitting in the pews of my church. But I tell ya I’ve been tempted, and one day I may do this, to take a Bible during my sermon, and physically rip the pages and chapters out – the parts we don’t like, the parts we ignore. I’d hope it would shock some folks to see their icon destroyed. I’d hope they’d hear me say that ripping the pages out of the Bible is no worse an offense to God than ignoring them.

Rant over.

2 responses

  1. thesoapsister

    Oh please tell me if/when you decide to do it -I want to be sure I’m in town! 🙂 Perhaps we could start a collection for a legitimate charity that re-distributes “used” Bibles….it would be interesting to see if folks would part with their “un-used used” Bibles….I’m just sayin’.

    April 15, 2011 at 9:57 am

    • I love Becky’s idea of having a church wide Bible collection for those Bibles we have in plain sight, but never open. I was guilty of this for the majority of my adult life. I regret those wasted years of not getting to know God on a personal level through the Word.
      I personally would not be for ripping a real Bible apart. Use a book that looks like a Bible and rip away! However, I love the point you want to make. Just my opinion.

      May 26, 2011 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

