From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Christian Day At The Stadium

I went to Busch Stadium to see the Cardinals play the Rockies last Saturday evening (Cards lost dern it). When I got there I found it was “Christian Day” at the ballpark, with Adam Wainwright and others involved in festivities after the game. I, of course, had two terribly insightful but nonetheless snotty reactions.

First, I wondered when “Jew Day” at the ballpark would be and what activities that would involve. I wondered how different that sounded than “Christian Day”, and why that was. Maybe it’s just my German background, but “Jew Day” somehow led me to think about kristallnacht (look it up).

Second, it let me to think about how much things have changed (for better and worse) since we used to have a different kind of “Christian Day” at another stadium in Rome.

One response

  1. Judy Bott

    All the more reason why we must still teach about the halocaust so that history doesn’t get the chance to repeat this horrific time. The articles about kristallnacht give us lots of background as to how this got started. What would our world have been like if someone had stood up to Hitler from the very beginning and told him “no way, mister”? Something I’ve often wondered about.

    Also, I just cringe when I see all these tatoos. What if they had to have their number put on their arm as those victims did? I just don’t feel our good Lord wants us to ruin his marvelous humans by making them a walking mess.

    Hope all is well with you and yours. Judy — Columbiana

    August 16, 2011 at 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

