From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Race And The Christian Right

Here’s an interesting trailer for an upcoming video and book – John Piper speaking about his upbringing as a “full-blooded racist”. I can relate. My mom grew up in rural Texas in the 1920’s and 30’s; I remember the segregated train stations, swimming pools, water fountains. And I remember the attitude that really did believe that blacks were something less than human.

I’ve not seen or read much from conservative camps on the sin of racism. At least nothing this personal and confessional. I’m looking forward to seeing and reading more. For more info on the book, the trailer or Piper, go to his website here.

Leave a Reply

