From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Put The X Back Into Xmas

Every year around this time someone starts taking flack for using “Xmas” instead of “Christmas” – though I don’t see “Xmas” as often as I used to. This has never seemed like a big deal to me. “Putting Christ back into Christmas” I think may be well intended but theologically absurd. We’re talking about a Sovereign Lord here, not a plastic baby that turns up missing from the manger. You can no more put Christ into or out of Christmas than you can put him into or out of Easter. And while I’m happy to “name the name” and proclaim the good news of our Savior’s birth – why would I expect an unbelieving culture to do the same? If you want to worship Christ, do that. But it would be weird of we expected Herod to do the same. Worship Christ, not with the words on cards or bumper stickers but with your heart and hands. Bow down. Be quiet. Love His children. Even those who celebrate Xmas.

In any case, to further exercise my ministry of the obnoxious, I say put the X back into Xmas. Here‘s an article from RC Sproul, no less, which explains why.

Leave a Reply

