From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Christianity and Liberalism – Free E-books

Last year when I got an e-book reader, I wasn’t sure I’d use it all that much. But I have. I’ve especially enjoyed being able to download books from my local library and return them without going outside. I’ve avoided late fees too because the books disappear from my reader when they’re due at the library. Another joy was finding that there are lots of classic works that are available as free e-books.

Right now Monergism is offering 32 free e-books, including works by Edwards, Bunyan, Warfield, Augustine, etc. And there is J. Gresham Machen’s Christianity and Liberalism, a book I found to be very insightful and helpful for a conservative in a liberal environment. Published in the 1930’s (I believe), it reads like it could have been written today. Click here for Monergism’s home page, here for the free books.

Speaking of e-readers, Amazon’s Kindle Fire is getting excellent reviews ($199 at Amazon) – but it’s far more than an e-reader. For simply reading books, I still favor the e-pub format that one uses with Barnes & Noble’s Nook, on sale now for a mere $99.

Leave a Reply

