From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Don’t Worry About The Future

Here’s my depressing (or liberating, depending on your point of view) thought for the day:

“Don’t get all excited about the future. It’s just the past waiting to happen.”

I made that up myself (I think – unless I heard it from someone else which, given what I’m saying, is probably true). Here’s another that I didn’t make up:

What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun. Is there a thing of which it is said, “See, this is new”? It has been already in the ages before us. Eccl 1:9-10 (ESV)

One response

  1. I like your words on the topic of worry, and the Words of Wisdom from Scripture you quoted. It is comforting to know that God understands our hearts and knows all about our emotional frailties. He provides many Scriptures on the subject in both the OT and NT to comfort us and point us to Him. I keep these verses linked below in My Favorites; they are great reminders that we are not walking this road of life alone or without an understanding God who provides answers to our needs in His Word.

    http://thelightofscripture.blogspot.com/2008/02/worryanxiety.html

    March 17, 2012 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

