From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

Love Song For Jesus

I hesitate a little with this because I don’t want to mistake love for Christ with the romantic passions we feel, especially as teenagers. But I’m beginning to think that our teenage passionate romances are foreshadowing a love for Christ that is far more than intellectual. So with that in mind, here’s one of my faves, written by Buck Ram, released in 1954 and sung most famously by The Platters: Only You

You may want to listen while you read this; go here.

Only you can make this world seem right

Only you can make the darkness bright

Only you and you alone can thrill me like you do

and fill my heart with love for only you.

Only you can make this change in me

For it’s true you are my destiny

When you hold my hand, I understand the magic that you do

You’re my dream come true my one and only you.

My Lord, my Master, My Friend, My Love, My Everything.
One response

  1. F. Walter Peters - 'Old Pete'

    Love your message, My love for Christ is hard for me to explain. I look at my life and must admit I think God Loves me too. At 87 years old and have a life as full as mine I know God loves me. Thank you for all the things you do for me. Thank you too, Pastor Earl.
    ‘Old Pete’

    October 13, 2012 at 9:54 am

Leave a Reply

