From The Pastor At St. Paul's UCC, Freeburg, IL

We Met The Reifschneider Challenge!

  Well here it is – last Friday Chad Rhutasel (and his fill-in Mike Walton), Bill Clossen and I took on the Reifschneider Challenge: eating 8 of their specially-hot chicken wings in 13 minutes. It was tough – more than once I thought I was going to lose it before I finished. Somehow I did it but believe me, it was a LOT harder than it looks! While it looks like I’m looking around, I was pretty much aware of only two things – the next wing and the state of my stomach, which was pretty much in shock. I was practically disabled most of Friday night and Saturday morning.

Was it worth it? Well the crowd had promised $115 per wing! The three of us ate our 8 wings each, so we wound up raising $2760 for Kindercottage! For that, yes, I’d do it again!

Thanks to Gini Asbridge who made this video; and to Kevin Mank (who works at the restaurant) for drumming up all the pledges from restaurant staff, and to all our church folks who did the same. And to everyone who came out to cheer us on!

 

One response

  1. Rick Holmes

    Wait a second… How does this fit in with the Porky Pastor project? It’s only sixteen days until weigh in!

    November 21, 2012 at 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

